The Court

The 11th Court of Appeals is one of only 14 intermediate appellate courts in Texas.

Its district includes 28 counties stretching from Midland and Ector Counties to the west and Erath and Palo Pinto Counties to the east.  It hears both criminal and civil cases appealed from lower courts throughout this district, and is located in Eastland.

The court is comprised of 3 justices: a chief justice and two associate justices.

All three justices sit as a panel to decide the appeals.  Approximately two-thirds of all appeals handled by the 11th Court of Appeals are criminal cases, and on many occasions the decision of this court is final because the two superior courts only consider the appeals from the intermediate courts of appeals on a discretionary basis.

The 11th Court of Appeals district is comprised of the following counties:

  • Baylor

  • Borden

  • Brown

  • Callahan

  • Coleman

  • Comanche

  • Dawson
  • Eastland

  • Ector

  • Erath

  • Fisher

  • Gaines

  • Glasscock

  • Haskell

  • Howard

  • Jones

  • Knox

  • Martin

  • Midland

  • Mitchell

  • Nolan

  • Palo Pinto

  • Scurry

  • Shackelford

  • Stephens

  • Stonewall

  • Taylor

  • Throckmorton



    Contact Judge Bailey

    Campaign Address
    P.O. Box 169
    Cisco, Texas 76437

    Send Judge Bailey a Message

    Political ad paid for by John Bailey Campaign